top of page
  • s45489318

~BORING THINGS~

Updated: Oct 19, 2021

ARTIST RESEARCH


Paul Strand made valuable contributions to 20th-century canon photography. He was an American artist whos range of experience field. It is demonstrated in both his abstraction of design and shadows in Wall Street (1915) and his emotional documentation of society in Bling (1916). Strand was born in New York on October 16, 1890. At Alfred Stieglitz's 291 Gallery, he had his first connection with Modern Art. Strand trained with Lewis Hine, a renowned photographer, after discovering his passion for photography as an art medium. His work switched from Pictorialist Landscape Studies, over the following years, to streamlined photographs of machinery and structures. The American painter Charles Sheeler was inspired by is artistic research into the urban landscape. He also produced Manhatta, the short film (1921) with Strand. Strand passed away on March 31, 1976, in France. You can find his work in the Victoria and Albert Museum collections in London, The Museum of Modern Art in New York, the Musée d'Orsay in Paris, and the National Gallery of Art in Washington, D.C.


This photograph shows people walking on the street during the day.

The image was taken in portrait, which narrows your view of the street. The juxtaposition of the people in and the street works well. Because the people are also spread across and into the frame, they cause our eyes to move around the image. Strand used the natural lighting in the area to its advantage with the light shadows that add texture. The image also works well from above.

I think this image was taken in a park in a busy area like a town. Judging from the clothes the people in the image are wearing, this image could have been taken from 1900 to 1920.

This image connects to my assignment since it was also an idea I had. Using mundane things, we create interesting images using four specific words (survey, flatten, elevate, play). This image shows how the idea I had for 'survey' could work.

I like the tone of the image. I feel like something is missing in the photo to let it go that extra mile, but it is ok the way it is.



INTRO TO ASSIGNMENT


For this task, there are multiple themes. Using four words, survey, flatten, elevate and play, I took images representing them using mundane things or places. I researched a photographer name Paul Strand. Though one of his images I described showed one of my ideas, his images didn't influence how I took my photos. I saw how he used ordinary places to create detailed and interesting photographs and kept them in mind. I also used photoshop to edit two of my images since I don't usually edit them.



MIND MAP AND SHOOT PLAN



FINAL IMAGES



TASK EVALUATION


Using the four words given (survey, flatten, elevate, play), I used boring things or places to create interesting images representing the words. I used things around the house for most of the images since we were in the middle of lockdown. The other image was taken when the government lifted it.


I researched Paul Strand, and it was interesting to look at his images. I think I did well with using boring items and places to express the words. I think my elevate images are the strongest, and my editing skills have improved. I don't think I would change anything if I could do the assignment over. The ideas were simple, but ones that no one else used.



Websites used:



6 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page