top of page
  • s45489318

~HIDDEN & REVEAL~

Updated: Oct 19, 2021

ARTIST RESEARCH

With his photography centring on the gloomy underside of suburbia, Todd Hido is an American contemporary photographer. Hido was born in Kent, Ohio, on August 25, 1968, and enrolled at the California College of Arts and Craft in Oakland. Hido's work is distinguishable from the shining bright spots in lonely spaces. This specifically influenced by Alfred Hitchcock and Rineke Dijkstra. In his earlier series, House at Night (1997), Featuring various farm and residential homes, showed a single light source. This gave the otherwise ordinary scenes a feeling of despair and urgency. Notably, almost all of Hido's fiction is published as stand-alone novels that he considers part of his craft. In several solo shows, he was the main attraction. These include the Julie Saul Gallery in New York in 2004, Yours Gallery in Warsaw in 2008, and the Galerie Particulière in Paris in 2012. Right now, Hido works and lives in San Francisco.


In this photograph, you can see a bight light shining onto a road.

There is only one light source in the image, and it is seen towards the top of the image. The light is shining in a dark area on a car parked next to it.

Hido took these kinds of dark, mysterious images and also created a book with those images. From the look of what is in the frame, Hido would have taken this on a quiet street in the middle of the night. He wanted to create mysterious images that show despair.

For this task, my images were based around these specific type of photographs that Hido took. With Hido's images, he created a darker effect while I wanted to create brighter ones. He took advantage of the night and the lack of light. I did the opposite. I used the exposer to the sun to help create a warm and relaxing setting.

With his images, his theme really showed and created interest. I liked that there was a lack of light, and it mainly focused on a specific aspect of the images.



INTRODUCTION TO TASK


The theme for this task hidden and reveal. Using light, framing, editing, or a specific subject in each image or hiding an element in the photo reveals a new subject. We also had to do find inspiration for our images, and I came across Tidd Hido. Hido used the lack of light to create a dark and mysterious feeling, while I used the exposure to light to create a warm and calm feeling. The images came out better than I thought, and the weather was also better than I expected.



MOOD BOARD




FINAL IMAGES



PEER FEEDBACK


My peers in the class liked even though each image was slightly different, they all worked well together. The shadow and outlines of the subjects with the sun were a great combination.

The way your eyes go towards the light and then move across the frame because of the different shapes of the shadows. The colour juxtaposition of the dark shadows to the bright sun and colourful skies work very well.

My peers thought that I took these in my neighbourhood at dawn, but I really took them on the highway just before dawn and onward. Some also said that they felt warmer while looking at the images, which was one of the feelings and wanted to give.

They also thought it worked really well with our theme and saw the connection between my images and Tidd Hido's.

Overall they said that the collection was great and that each time they looked at an image, something new happened, so they were kept on their toes.



TASK EVALUATION


For this task, I used the light from the sun to help create warm and calming images. I took inspiration from Todd Hido. He has a series of images that depicted mysterious scenes using mainly one light source. He took the images during the night, and in some, the sun was going down. I tried to recreate his images since they went well with the theme, but I wanted a warmer and relaxing feeling.


This went well with the theme since the shadows and outlines of the subjects were hiding the sun, but the sun also revealed or made the shadows more prominent. I think I did well using the aspects Hido used in his images but made it my own. I also think that there was also a good variety of photos. Not all of the images were too similar. Each one had a slightly different and makes the collection even more interesting.


I was very proud of how I successfully changed the settings to match the exposure of the sun. I also think that my framing also shined in this task. If I had to do this task again, I wouldn't change anything I did. Everything was far better than I expected.



Websites Used:



17 views0 comments

Comentarios


bottom of page